Author Topic: Writing Extract  (Read 150 times)

Offline beast4321

• Turret
  • I only eat people on full moons... mostly...
    • View Profile
Writing Extract
« on: January 31, 2019, 02:17 am »
So, I'm an aspiring Author, as you lot should know. I do a lot of writing, I've done five or so projects, finished a five hundred page book and harassed some Publishing Agents with it. And, as befitting of my benevolent nature, I decided to share with you all a little extract from said project. Whether you actually read the extract or not is up to you, it's a bit long, but I'm proud of it and I'd love to hear any feedback on it (and if you leave some, I promise you a signed copy if it's published!) So, onwards to the extract...

Broken Extract

Day 3
  Charlise
    5:00

She lay there a few moments, on the edge of consciousness. She was in bed, in her barrack in the Ravenfall Command Centre, relaxing at the lightness of clothes instead of light Myriad armour. It was astonishingly quiet. She knew her squad well after a year of living with them. Frethargard would always be starting in his sleep and quietly whispering to himself. Gordaine snored. But, now it was blissfully silent.
  Her head began to throb and she stopped smiling when she remembered what’d happened. Her eyes darted open. The roof was metal, made of small square plates that formed a grid. She knew her barrack block roof. After long nights staring at it, she had memorised its pattern, but this was unfamiliar. The lights were brighter and they all worked. And where was the black stain on the roof, three squares across from her bunk?
  This was not the barrack block.
  She looked around.