Author Topic: Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs  (Read 5732 times)

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #30 on: July 23, 2011, 04:56 pm »
Posted By: ju44For some reason, when you test game with a character made from the graphics editor, invisible blocks you didn't put there appear, allowing you to go higher then normal, but also blocking you.  This is a square character, BTW.


Not sure what you mean.  Can you make an example?
 

Offline lumberjay

  • The Philosopher
  • Disruptor
  • ****
  • Posts: 9,640
  • Karma: +413/-0
  • Jaywalker extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #31 on: July 23, 2011, 08:56 pm »
Posted By: geoffNot sure what you mean.  Can you make an example?

I'll give an example. I created a square and gave it a graphic design. When I tried to test, the character square moved upwards a few inches and the character could only move a few inches to the right before it was stopped by an invisible wall. I experienced this problem only with the large, zoomed in field. I'm sorry if I didn't explain it well enough.
Majoring in Political Science with a minor in Philosophy
 

Offline lumberjay

  • The Philosopher
  • Disruptor
  • ****
  • Posts: 9,640
  • Karma: +413/-0
  • Jaywalker extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #32 on: July 23, 2011, 09:50 pm »
Another bug that I noticed was that graphic creations have no collision layers. I tried making a game where the player has to walk around a wall, but instead, the character walks right through it. Both the wall and the character have all collision layers on and no pass-thru layers.
Majoring in Political Science with a minor in Philosophy
 

Offline supernova101

  • Turret
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #33 on: July 23, 2011, 11:23 pm »
When I connect a (graphics made) item to a elevator-moving shape with the connector, the player can walk right through the graphics made item connected to the elevator. D:)

Aaand I checked the collision layers just to make sure, and none where removed.. :/

I'll post an example if you want.
 

Offline supernova101

  • Turret
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #34 on: July 23, 2011, 11:24 pm »
And I think Lumberjays post has to do with the same problem that mine has.
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #35 on: July 23, 2011, 11:58 pm »
Posted By: lumberjay
Posted By: geoffNot sure what you mean.  Can you make an example?

I'll give an example. I created a square and gave it a graphic design. When I tried to test, the character square moved upwards a few inches and the character could only move a few inches to the right before it was stopped by an invisible wall. I experienced this problem only with the large, zoomed in field. I'm sorry if I didn't explain it well enough.


Please post an example.
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #36 on: July 23, 2011, 11:58 pm »
Posted By: supernova101When I connect a (graphics made) item to a elevator-moving shape with the connector, the player can walk right through the graphics made item connected to the elevator. D:)

Aaand I checked the collision layers just to make sure, and none where removed.. :/

I'll post an example if you want.


Yes, please.
 

Offline lumberjay

  • The Philosopher
  • Disruptor
  • ****
  • Posts: 9,640
  • Karma: +413/-0
  • Jaywalker extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #37 on: July 24, 2011, 12:29 am »
Posted By: geoffPlease post an example.

Sorry, but what do you mean exactly?
Majoring in Political Science with a minor in Philosophy
 

Offline supernova101

  • Turret
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #38 on: July 24, 2011, 12:33 am »
Posted By: geoff
Posted By: supernova101When I connect a (graphics made) item to a elevator-moving shape with the connector, the player can walk right through the graphics made item connected to the elevator. D:)

Aaand I checked the collision layers just to make sure, and none where removed.. :/

I'll post an example if you want.


Yes, please.


Okay: http://www.sploder.com/publish.php?s=d0024ddq

This is without any collision layers removed.
 

Offline lumberjay

  • The Philosopher
  • Disruptor
  • ****
  • Posts: 9,640
  • Karma: +413/-0
  • Jaywalker extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #39 on: July 24, 2011, 12:40 am »
Okay... It seems that it will not allow me to publish the game to show an example, even though I published a game earlier.
Majoring in Political Science with a minor in Philosophy
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #40 on: July 24, 2011, 12:59 am »
??? Why won't it let you publish a game?  What error do you get, if any?
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #41 on: July 24, 2011, 01:04 am »
supernova101http://www.sploder.com/publish.php?s=d0024ddq


This doesn't collide because the guy sliding back and forth is attached with a connector.  Child objects in a connector connection do not collide.  Simply put the elevator directly on the guy.
 

Offline supernova101

  • Turret
  • Posts: 80
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #42 on: July 24, 2011, 01:14 am »
Does this have to do with the graphics...?

This didn't happen with previous shapes before the update.....

Anyway, alright, thanks for clearing that up.
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #43 on: July 24, 2011, 01:32 pm »
It was always this way.  In your case, try using a pinjoint instead of a connector.
 

Offline spencerrocks

  • Launcher
  • ***
  • Posts: 1,949
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #44 on: July 24, 2011, 02:24 pm »
Geoff this is a really weird bug. I can never click walk mode. Its faced to the right. My browser is google chrome. And a question. How do you like a graphic?
 

Offline lumberjay

  • The Philosopher
  • Disruptor
  • ****
  • Posts: 9,640
  • Karma: +413/-0
  • Jaywalker extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #45 on: July 24, 2011, 02:34 pm »
Posted By: geoffWhat error do you get, if any?

No error pops up. I simply press the publish button and it doesn't do anything.
Majoring in Political Science with a minor in Philosophy
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #46 on: July 24, 2011, 09:03 pm »
Huh? Are you logged in?  Do other games publish? Use the clipboard to copy the level info and paste it here.
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #47 on: July 24, 2011, 09:04 pm »
Posted By: spencerrocksGeoff this is a really weird bug. I can never click walk mode. Its faced to the right. My browser is google chrome. And a question. How do you like a graphic?


Save your game, let me know the name, and tell me which object you are trying to do this with.
 

Offline lumberjay

  • The Philosopher
  • Disruptor
  • ****
  • Posts: 9,640
  • Karma: +413/-0
  • Jaywalker extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #48 on: July 24, 2011, 09:23 pm »
Posted By: geoffHuh? Are you logged in?  Do other games publish? Use the clipboard to copy the level info and paste it here.

I managed to publish, although it would not allow me publish on the level where the bug occurs. It happens on level three. It is the zoomed in field and it is not finished. There is a block to jump over. Jump and land on the block and continue walking to see some of the glitches.
NOTE: The block in level three is supposed to be immobile.
Here.
Majoring in Political Science with a minor in Philosophy
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #49 on: July 25, 2011, 02:37 am »
@lumberjay - do you mean how if you approach the block, you are stopped?  That's because the object you placed the graphic on is a square. The collision shape is not trimmed to fit the graphic. I recommend you use a rectangle instead of a square for your character. That way, you can adjust the collision shape to match the aspect ratio of your graphic.
 

Offline alexturner2002

  • Mortar
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,852
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #50 on: July 25, 2011, 12:25 pm »
Posted By: spencerrocksGeoff this is a really weird bug. I can never click walk mode. Its faced to the right. My browser is google chrome. And a question. How do you like a graphic?


If the graphic does not have 2 frames or more then Walk Mode will not work.
 

Offline lumberjay

  • The Philosopher
  • Disruptor
  • ****
  • Posts: 9,640
  • Karma: +413/-0
  • Jaywalker extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #51 on: July 25, 2011, 02:48 pm »
Posted By: geoff- do you mean how if you approach the block, you are stopped?

I wish that was the problem, but no. When you jump over the block, the block will start to move in a different direction even though it is meant to stay in place. Also, upon moving past the block, you will be stopped by a nonexistent wall.
Majoring in Political Science with a minor in Philosophy
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #52 on: July 25, 2011, 08:16 pm »
Are you sure it's not just the camera following your character that is giving you this impression?
 

Offline lumberjay

  • The Philosopher
  • Disruptor
  • ****
  • Posts: 9,640
  • Karma: +413/-0
  • Jaywalker extraordinaire
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #53 on: July 25, 2011, 09:58 pm »
Posted By: geoffAre you sure it's not just the camera following your character that is giving you this impression?

O_O
Gah!
*Facepalm*
So obvious. I feel ridiculous for not thinking of that obvious answer.
Sorry for wasting your time.
Majoring in Political Science with a minor in Philosophy
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #54 on: July 25, 2011, 10:45 pm »
Hahaha... too funny.
 

Offline Zzron

  • Guard
  • **
  • Posts: 605
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #55 on: July 26, 2011, 06:36 am »
Uhmm. I can't publish my game with graphics in it. I click the button and nothing happens.
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #56 on: July 26, 2011, 12:44 pm »
Is the text in the Publish button white? What I mean is, is the button active?
 

Offline geoff

  • Administrator
  • Mortar
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,234
  • Karma: +2343/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #57 on: July 26, 2011, 12:55 pm »
Do you happen to only have one object in your game? It appears that if you only have one object in your game, the publish button doesn't work...
 

Offline supersain

  • Guard
  • **
  • Posts: 588
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #58 on: July 26, 2011, 02:41 pm »
I cant use the flood fill the brush or the eraser if i have somthing selected  with the selection tool
 

Offline Zzron

  • Guard
  • **
  • Posts: 605
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Graphics Editor and Physics Maker (Graphics-related) Bugs
« Reply #59 on: July 26, 2011, 06:30 pm »
Posted By: geoffDo you happen to only have one object in your game? It appears that if you only have one object in your game, the publish button doesn't work...

That's the problem then!